Saturday, September 30, 2006

I had to Blog This!


This will give you a whole new appreciation for Cats!!!
Cat Lover or Not, this is hysterical!
We've all had trouble with our animals, but I don't think anyone can
top this one:

Calling in sick to work makes me uncomfortable. No matter how
legitimate my excuse, I always get the feeling that my boss thinks I'm
lying.
On one recent occasion, I had a valid reason but lied anyway, because
the truth was just too darned humiliating. I simply mentioned that I had
sustained a head injury, and I hoped I would feel up to coming in the
next day. By then, I reasoned, I could think up a doozy to explain the
bandage on the top of my head.
The accident occurred mainly because I had given in to my wife's wishes
to adopt a cute little kitty.
Initially, the new acquisition was no problem.

Then one morning, I was taking my shower after breakfast when I heard
my wife, Deb, call out to me from the kitchen.
"Honey! The garbage disposal is dead again. Please come reset it."
"You know where the button is," I protested through the shower
pitter-patter and steam. "Reset it yourself!"
"But I'm scared!" she persisted. "What if it starts going and sucks me
in?" There was a meaningful pause and then, "C'mon, it'll only take you a second."
So out I came, dripping wet and butt naked, hoping that my silent
outraged nudity would make a statement about how I perceived her behavior as
extremely cowardly.
Sighing loudly, I squatted down and stuck my head under the sink to
find the button. It is the last action I remember performing.
It struck without warning, and without any respect to my circumstances.
No, it wasn't the hexed disposal, drawing me into its gnashing metal
teeth. It was our new kitty, who discovered the fascinating dangling
objects she spied hanging between my legs. She had been poised
around the corner and stalked me as I reached under the sink.
And, at the precise moment when I was most vulnerable, she leapt
at the toys I unwittingly offered and snagged them with her needle-like claws.
I lost all rational thought to control orderly bodily movements, blindly
rising at a violent rate of speed, with the full weight of a kitten
hanging from my masculine region.
Wild animals are sometimes faced with a "fight or flight" syndrome.
Men, in this predicament, choose only the "flight" option. I know this from
experience. I was fleeing straight up into the air when the sink and cabinet
bluntly and forcefully impeded my ascent.
The impact knocked me out cold.
When I awoke, my wife and the paramedics stood over me. Now there
are not many things in this life worse than finding oneself lying on the
kitchen floor, butt naked, in front of a group of "been-there, done-that"
paramedics.
Even worse, having been fully briefed by my wife, the paramedics were
all snorting loudly as they tried to conduct their work, all the while
trying to suppress their hysterical laughter......and not succeeding.
Somehow I lived through it all. A few days later I finally made it back
in to the office, where colleagues tried to coax an explanation out of me
about my head injury. I kept silent, claiming it was too painful to talk
about, which it was. "What's the matter?" They all asked, "Cat got your
tongue?"
If they only knew!
Why is it that only the women laugh at this?

Friday, September 29, 2006

What a Day!

First off, I could not believe it! We pulled it off! Three art projects and one Letter paper! All in a two and 1/2 hour period!!! With four year olds! Man was I exhausted. Then after getting Stephanie it was time to do it all over again!!! Thank goodness Steph was there to help! The funny thing is she is getting comfortable telling the kids what to do, she sounds just like me !!! LOL!!! We had good news.... We have a new aide starting on Monday! Which happens to be our field trip to Circle S Farms :) But of course, we don't just go on Monday. We go Tuesday and Wednesday! I know another exhausting week!!!

Oh and yea, I need to tell Miranda, Congratulations on your #100 Blog!!! I have to find out what time our plane leaves for Hawaii! lol.....

Tonight is Homecoming game for TVHS! I also have Dan's nephew JP staying the night with us! Which also, means Andy will probably show up too.... Oh well, no sleep tonight.... Then tomorrow is getting Steph ready for the dance! Which we all know..... could take all day....lol.... I think her friend Tiffany may try to come over here to get ready! This should be good!

Well, I'm out for now! If I don't get to blog 2mw...... Go Bucks!!!

Saturday, September 23, 2006

Congratulations
TO ALL THE KIDS WHO WERE BORN IN THE 1930's 40's, 50's, 60's and 70's !!

First, we survived being born to mothers who smoked and/or drank while they carried us.

They took aspirin, ate blue cheese dressing, tuna from a can, and didn't get tested for diabetes.

Then after that trauma, our baby cribs were covered with bright colored lead-based paints.
We had no childproof lids on medicine bottles, doors or cabinets and when we rode our bikes, we had no helmets, not to mention, the risks we took hitchhiking.

As children, we would ride in cars with no seat belts or air bags.
Doctors and Dentist never wore latax gloves.
Riding in the back of a pick up on a warm day was always a special treat.We drank water from a pump or the garden hose and NOT from a bottle.

We shared one soft drink with four friends, from one bottle and NO ONE actually died from this.
We ate cupcakes, white bread and real butter and drank soda pop with sugar in it, but we weren't overweight because......WE WERE ALWAYS OUTSIDE PLAYING!!

We would leave home in the morning and play all day, as long as we were back when the streetlights came on or before dark.
No one was able to reach us all day. And we were O.K.

We would spend hours building our soap box cars or go-carts out of scraps and then ride down the hill, only to find out we forgot the brakes. After running into the bushes or a ditch a few times, we learned to solve the problem.

no phones, no personal computers, no Internet or Internet chat rooms..........WE HAD FRIENDS and we went outside and found them!

We fell out of trees, got cut, broke bones and teeth and there were nolawsuits from these accidents.

We ate worms and mud pies made from dirt, and the worms did not live in us forever.

We were given BB guns for our 10th birthdays,made up games with sticks and tennis balls and although we were told it would happen, we did not put out very many eyes.

We rode bikes or walked to a friend's house and knocked on the door or rang the bell, or just yelled for them!

Little League had tryouts and not everyone made the team. Those who didn't had to learn to deal with disappointment. Imagine that!!

This generation has produced some of the best risk-takers, problem solvers and inventors ever!
The past 50 years have been an explosion of innovation and new ideas.
We had freedom, failure, success and responsibility, and we learned HOW TODEAL WITH IT ALL!

And YOU are one of them!CONGRATULATIONS!

You might want to share this with others who have had the luck to grow up as kids, before lawyers and the government regulated our lives for our own good.
and while you are at it, forward it to your kids so they will know how brave their parents were.

PS -The big type is because your eyes are shot at your age

Ohio State???

Ok it is now 11:17! Where are all the Ohio State pre-game blog updates??? Come on guys.... You wouldn't wanna jinx 'em now would you? You know they play Penn State !!!! Well, I am doing my part.... So????????? Do I hear an O--H?

Friday, September 22, 2006

Fellow Bloggers....................

OK guys.... this is a spin off of Miranda's Blog.... "the Decade". This is homecoming week for Teays Valley! Those of you who have visited Steph's blog, have seen the dresses! Any ways, Monday is ....... Eighty's Day! No Girls, not 50's day like when we were in school! But, eighty's day! Man, how old are we? So any ways.... I get to make Steph have BIG hair!LOL !!! If anyone has any cool eighty's dress attire in the back of their closets or drawers (ex. leg warmers) let me know! I may have to make a trip to the thrift store! LOL... And she thinks she looks like me now! This could be good! We'll take lots of pictures to post! She also has Hillbilly day.... so if anyone has any bibs let me know.... Maybe she should wear David's hat lol!!! Seriously, wouldn't she be cute as Ellie Mae Clampett? LOL.... Color Day she has covered and then there is Spirit Day! It should be an interesting week!!!!!!!!

Well, this was a crazy week! The Fire dept. cancelled on us for today and is going to be at school on Monday.... which actually worked out well! We are doing all kinds of art projects!:) And of course we MISS Ms. Heather and Jacob!:) Get well guys.... we need ya!

It's almost time for Dallas' Birthday! Thank the Lord for the YMCA!!! Sorry Miranda, no pole dancing at this one!!! LOL!!! (no guys, Miranda wasn't the one dancing) LOL...

Well, I need to go do some things and Steph wants to go shopping for Homecoming week!

Monday, September 18, 2006

Sick Day!

This has been one of those days.... First Steph wakes up not feeling good... she gets hot starts sweating and then is freezing.... needless to say she stayed home... Then Heather called and poor Jacob was running a fever!! Poor kid, I hope he feels better... Then when I pick Dallas up from school he said he didn't feel good... He felt a little warm but, didn't have much of a fever! Thank goodness.... Then he proceeded to eat me out of house and home so.... yea, I think he is ok...

We got alot done at school today. Sponge painted leaves (you should have been there Miranda ... lol) and we did a paper on the letter M.... It doesn't sound like much but, we are talking preschoolers and we are talking about 15 of them today... btw Heather we have a new girl in the class starting Wed. Guess who gets to hang all the leaves on Wed??? ;) LOL... We just realized today how much stuff we have to get done! We have to get all the fall stuff out of the building and.... yepp decorate the room! fun stuff!

Why is it that when things get hectic at work, it seems to get hectic at church and with the kids stuff... idk... Just seems like everything happens at once....

Well, I g2g for now......

Saturday, September 16, 2006

This is Funny!!!

FUNERAL PROCESSION(DON'T SKIP THE PRAYER AT THE END. IT'S PRICELESS!)

A woman was leaving a convenience store with her morning coffee when she noticed a most unusual funeral procession approaching the nearby cemetery. A long black hearse was followed by a second long black hearse about 50 feet behind the first one. Behind the second hearse was a solitary woman walking a pit bull on a leash. Behind her, a short distance back, were about 200 women walking single file.The woman was so curious that she respectfully approached the woman walking the dog and said, "I am so sorry for your loss, and I know now is a bad time to disturb you, but I have never seen a funeral like this. Whose funeral is it?""My husband's.""What happened to him?"The woman replied, "My dog attacked and killed him."She inquired further, "Well, who is in the second hearse?"The woman answered, "My mother-in-law. She was trying to help my husbandwhen the dog turned on her."A poignant and thoughtful moment of silence passed between the two women."Can I borrow the dog?"
"Get in line."____________________________________________

A Woman's Prayer:
Dear Lord,I pray for: Wisdom, To understand a man,Love, To forgive him, andPatience, For his moods.Because, Lord, if I pray for StrengthI'll just beat him to death

3 Day Weekend...........

I love 3 day weekends.... Friday was a busy day! I had to give a perm to a friend that morning, then met a friend for lunch :) (sorry you ate too much), then we were off to River Valley Mall shopping for homecoming dresses! The girls were sooo cute trying on all those dresses! Steph's is like a charcoal color with silver glitter stuff! Oh I can't skip lunch.... we had such great entertainment! Dallas sang for us.... then it reminded Miranda of her elementary Titanic song.... which btw was a little bit tooo happy. LOL! Yes, Miranda actually sang it for us in Chipotle! Now we know she could sing at church...LOL! Anyways.... then it was back home to get the girls ready for the football game..... which btw Teays Valley won!! Go Vikes! Dallas was at a friends house so, I picked him up and we went to get Chinese Food (yum) and Blockbuster for movies :)

Whew..... what a weekend and that was just Friday! Saturday.... well, so far it has slowed down a tad! I went and got the gift for my secret sis and now the Buckeye game..... I began to wonder where the Bucks were...... cause it didn't look like they showed up for the game.... But, then Gonzales just showed up!!! It's halftime and things are looking up!

And where is Heather??? LOL>>>>>>>>>

Till next time.....................

Wednesday, September 13, 2006

Hmmmm.......................

Today is one of those days......... Nothing was really wrong today, just blah...... Tomorrow should be very busy... I need to take Steph to Circleville and go to Sally's and Walmart to kill an hour while she is in class (that shouldn't be a problem). Then I need to go to the YMCA to reserve the place for Dallas' birthday party! WOW! I can't believe my baby is gonna be 11yrs. old. Then of course it will be time for Steph to be 17yrs. old..... Man time flies! I don't think I will need Miranda to make any pinata's this year! LOL>>>>

Well, this morning was kind of..... idk.... sad and just made me stop and think.... We have this little girl in our morning class, her grandma brought her today and they had her cousin with him. He was dressed in his army fatigues. Then Jennifer told me he was headed for Texas~ Ft. Hood to be exact and I was like cool! Me being my dumb self.... He introduced himself to me.... Nice kid! Then they started to leave and Jennifer told him to be safe. He left the room and I said Jennifer, Texas isn't that bad! She was like, Carleta he is going to Iraq in March! I noticed the tears in her eyes.... She said, he's only 19!!! It just kind of makes everything real! I mean we see it on t.v. , we read it in the papers...... and then it hits home! I am really glad that people do what they do..... I just wish they didn't have to! So... I pray for all of our troops no matter how old they are.... God be with you!!!

Saturday, September 09, 2006

The First Week.....

Well, I survived!!! I am still alive... I was really worried. Tuesday was awesome! The kids were sooo cute.... and they did really good! Then came Wed. It was a little hectic but, the morning went quite well. It was really nice, having Ms.Heather there this week! :) Then came Wed. afternoon... If you have seen "Benchwarmers", you will know what I'm talking about... I wanted to say what... is... this... children of the corn? LOL.... seriously... one little boy was.......... let's just say trying! But, when he came back Fri. it was like he was a different kid! So, I will pray that the Fri. boy comes back Mon.! LOL... Well, anyways Heather did great with the kids. They did an all about me paper. Let's just say, I think she got to know a few of the kids! lol... I did notice... writing is going to be a challenge for this years graduating class! There will probably be alot of one on one help.... which will be challenging because the classes are soooo big....

Alot of the kids came in dressed in their OSU attire...... I couldn't resist..... ya'll know me..... I told Jennifer and Heather that I should teach the kids how to do their hands and say "HOOK 'EM HORNS!" LOL ... but I did'nt it was a funny thought though! Oh well!

So, enough about preschool! Today.... Murphy has been following me around(you know Murphy's Law) I was going to run the sweeper. The belt was broken so, I had to put a new one on. So I got that done. Then I had to steam clean the carpets. Well, our cleaner wouldn't work. So I couldn't do that... I did manage to do some dishes and fold some clothes.... I just wonder what won't work next.... Oh well.... I was actually ready to get something done today.... I guess some days you should just give up..... so maybe I will! Cause the game will come on soon!

So I guess I should say, "Go Bucks" GIT R DONE!

Monday, September 04, 2006

Tomorrow......

Tomorrow I will be at preschool.... My first day back.... Dan still has to put the bulletin board up!!! grrrr! Tomorrow the kids get to color a picture of a girl or boy (whichever they are) then in December we have them color another one and In the spring, they color one.... Then we compare and see how they have improved! We have simple things the first week... Cause we know most of what will get done is holding the ones crying for MOM. So yeah, It will be a crazy day.... But, we have some funny kids that will be full of surprises. Some of our quotable quotes have been: "Ms. Carleta, you are having a Bad hair day!" "When I get married, I'm gonna have a girlfriend!" "When I grow up, I'm gonna work at McDonalds!" "When I get big I'm gonna be on American Idol" and the list goes on lol... It's great...

So before you lay your head down tonight say a quick prayer for me!
Love Ya'll!!!!!!!!!

Sunday, September 03, 2006

O--H--I--O

Jeff Foxworthy on Ohio : All I have to say is "Go Bucks!"
You might be from Ohio (pronounced O-hi-uh),
if: You think all Pro football teams are supposed to wear orange!
You know all the 4 seasons: winter, still winter, almost winter and construction.
You live less than 30 miles from some college or university.
You know what a buckeye really is, and have a recipe for candied ones.
"Toward the lake" means "north" and "toward the river" means "south."
You know if other Ohioans are from southern or northern Ohio as soon as they open their mouths.
You can spell words like Cuyahoga, Olentangy, Bellefontaine, Tuscarawas, Wapakoneta and you know which letter is doubled in Cincinnati.
"Vacation" means spending a day at Cedar Point in the summer and deer hunting in the fall. You measure distance in minutes.
Your school classes were canceled because of cold.
Your school classes were canceled because of heat.
You've had to switch from "heat" to "A/C" in the same day.
You know what should be knee-high by the Fourth of July.
You end your sentences with an unnecessary preposition. For example: "Where's my coat at?" You install security lights on your house and garage and leave both unlocked.
You think of the major four food groups as corn, pork, beer, and Jell-O salad with marshmallows.
You carry jumper cables in your car.
You know what 'pop' is.
You design your kid's Halloween costume to fit over a snowsuit.
Driving is better in the winter because the potholes are filled with snow. (Amen!)
You think sexy lingerie is tube socks and a flannel nightgown.
The local paper covers national and international headlines on one page but requires six pages for sports.
You know which leafs make good toilet paper !

The Day Before

This is it ! The day before Labor Day.... Church was good this morning. Tom Greer did the cutest childrens spot during the morning service. It was sooo funny, It made me smile, first thing...He had them sing that song "I'm in the Lord's Army", the funny thing was, that none of them knew that song....But, it was cute... I'm really glad he did that... I hope he keeps it up!
Then.... we went back to JR. church. Man, why is it on my day they always have big amounts of kids go back.... I think last week, Steph and Miranda had like 2 kids.... today, I had like 8!!! Not fair! I guess they just wanted to prepare me for my week! lol....

So, I came home made lunch and then started to try to think of art projects to do in October with the kids.... Why don't I have Miranda's brain??? Well anyways, I remembered ones that we have done in the past, but, I couldn't think of any knew ones... So, Heather???? lol idk I guess I just have a brain block.... or an art block.... idk....

Well, here in a little while I need to go over to the preschool and laminate some stuff and hopefully I will have a volunteer to hang up a bulletin board for me.... cough cough... hint hint ...Dan.

Tomorrow and Tuesday Stephanie has orientation for Ohio Christian University... She is so nervous.... Pray for her please. I know she will be fine once it starts... Just like speech class but, right now it is fear of the unknown.

Please, pray for Dallas to.... He isn't feeling good.... He needs to get well for school.... and I don't need to catch it..... cause I can't miss school!!! lol I could see it now Jennifer would KILL ME!!!

Well, I guess I better go for now.....
But, I must say........................... WAY TO GO BUCKEYES!!!!!

Friday, September 01, 2006

What's the Magic Number???

Today was one of those crazy days!!! First there was a two hour delay... There was an electrical outage or something in Ashville..... Maybe Miranda can fill me in. Steph wanted me to take her and her friends to McDonalds. So we did. Then Dallas and I went to preschool.(a friend took him to school) I actually got a few things done. There will be soooo much paperwork to do next week, I don't even want to think about it! Well, I was on the phone, when I looked up at the clock and discovered that it was 12:00pm (that is when I am supposed to pick up Steph!). AHHH! So I hurried to go get her from school. We came home to eat lunch and she went to bed to take a nap. Before I knew it I fell asleep! Thank goodness, I woke up at 2:00pm. I had to get flowers for someone and pick Dallas up. While I was at the school, delivering my flowers, this lady came up that we knew and started talking about her little girl. Then I realized she was talking about bringing her to preschool Tuesday! That means that we now have a total of 45 kids.... I keep thinking this has to be our number.... But, I don't know.... we still have others waiting to be potty trained. Well, we must be doing something right.... My goal this year was 40... The thing about it is usually we pick up more kids throughout the year... So please keep me in your prayers... I really love my job.... I hope I can keep up the energy it will take to make this year work the way we need it to. Not only is it my job to get them ready for kindergarten but, I also have the responsibility to God to help them grow in Jesus! I have realized that every year it gets harder to tell kids about Jesus.... Not for fear.... Just because it is getting harder to explain to them that Superman, Batman and all these things are not real.... But that Jesus is our only Superhero! (yes,Heather that includes snickers...lol j/k) So pray that I will be able to accomplish at least a little bit of that!

Now on the lighter side....
As I get older, I have a way of embarrassing my daughter..... actually, without even trying..... What should have been my embarrassment somehow turns into hers. What I am about to tell you probably would have made Heather's top five...... We went thru the drive-thru at Mcdonalds the other day for lunch.... I paid the cashier and proceeded to tell Stephanie this story I had began before ordering and I drove right passed the 2nd window!!! She was soooo embarrassed. The really funny part was that when I backed up (no there wasn't anyone behind me) to the window, the girl at the window didn't even realize what I had done..... Oh well, I guess you had to be there.....

Take care,
Carleta