Sunday, October 29, 2006

My Son.........

This has been a crazy week!!! For those of you don't know, I asked you to pray for Dallas because, he had told us that he wanted to be baptized. We wanted to make sure that he was ready.... Then I started asking myself questions.........
Like..................
I don't know that we should really tell someone that they are not ready.... Jesus didn't. They asked him what they should do to be saved, he told them. Then there were the disciples. They would preach and teach, they would explain what should be done, then they would do the necessary steps and be baptized and most of the time that persons whole house would follow. So, shouldn't we be doing more teaching.... Should we really have people answer 150 questions and write an essay before We are sure they are ready? lol.... Seriously, I think we need to trust in God more.... we need to remember conviction comes from Him and He decides who is ready...

I wanted Dallas to realize this was a lifetime committment! I am really glad he decided it was time and that he realizes that he needs Christ and he knows that with sin he cannot have Christ with him.

I hope that in the future that I remember what I have learned from my son and I do not try to decide who is ready and who is not! Thank you God for sending my son to teach me this lesson!(I'm sure there will be many more to come :))

Saturday, October 28, 2006

5 More Dayz..............

It's almost time!!!! The concert is upon us!!! It is going to be great.... We all love Mercy Me! I mean, who wouldn't! And then the sadness.... Audio will say farewell.... At least we get to see them guyz!!! Go Us!!!

Get Down:
Life is sweet
But lives are wasted
Humbleness is left untasted
You can't live your life
to please yourself, yeah
That's a tip from my mistake
Exactly what it doesn't take
To win you gotta come in last place!
To live your Life you've got to lose it
And all the losers get a crown!

I get down,
He lifts me up
I get down,
He lifts me up
I get down,
He lifts me up
I get down........

All I need is another day,
where I can't seem to get away,
from the many things that drag me down, yeah
I'm sure you've had a day like me
Where nothing seems to set you free
From burdens you can't carry all alone

In your weakness
He is stronger
In your darkness
He shines through
When your cryin'
He's your comfort
When your all alone
He's carryin' you!

I get down
He lifts me up!


To be continued......................

Sunday, October 22, 2006

Thinking.........

I know, I shouldn't think too much, I might hurt myself.... I read Heather and Miranda's blogs and I read a email from Robert Hartman. For those of you who do not know Robert, He is a missionary that our church supports in Ghana Africa... He and his wife work sooo hard to be able to do God's work in Africa, with very little support. I did something soooo small. I forwarded his email to a friend who preaches at a church around Cleveland. I told Robert this morning, and I hope that he did not mind me sharing.... He was sooo grateful that I would do that... They need all the help they can get. These people give up material things, emotional things and just plain comfort. To tell others about Christ.... And sometimes I am uncomfortable about telling people here... Now I think I don't even begin to understand uncomfortable. In the short time I have been on this earth, I have met a few people that I feel would Really give up everything and follow Christ... It is easy to say, why didn't the people back in Bible days believe, He was right there performing miracles! But, when he asks us to give things up, are we ready? When he asks us to approach someone, to ask if they know Christ, are we too afraid? Do we find an excuse? Like they don't look appropriate or what if they get angry? We always need to witness through example....But, when is that not enough? Dan and I were talking about this today. You don't want to bug someone to death, when you see they are uncomfortable maybe step back and take a different approach. But, when can we honestly say we have made every effort. I guess, I have had such good examples shown to me, I feel... I must do more...................................................

PS
I don't want to go into too much detail.... but, please PRAY for Dallas :)

Monday, October 16, 2006

Good Week!!!

Well, this should be a good week.... I only work 2 days this week! But, I don't know today was kinda crazy. We had 2 art projects to do. (I know we should have had Miranda) We were painting paper bag pumpkins and painting wood cut out pumpkins! We got maybe 5 kids done and the phone rang. It was a man that goes to the church affiliated with the church I work at..... He wanted the preschool to make placemats for prisoners (they do a prison ministry) Well, I said ok how many do you need? He said as many as you can get.... Then I said when do you need them and he said by Thursday.... (we only have 2 days of school this week) Well, basically I said ok I would see what I could do.... So that made our third art project. Then I got to thinking..... Wasn't that kind of rude? What if I didn't have the materials to do this? I felt obligated to do this but, then I thought that is just not enough notice..... We are doing this but.... idk.... Then I thought.... prisoners? Is it just me or should we be taking things made by children to prisoners in Lucasville prison..... Am I being judgemental? It just kind of creeped me out. Maybe, I shouldn't feel that way, but, there are all kinds of prisoners there.... This is something I will have to pray about before, we do this again. I was caught off guard... Maybe I am judging these people... that is one thing I really try not to do.... It's not that I think they shouldn't have a prison ministry, I think that is wonderful.... They need to know Christ..... But, I don't know that these prisoners do. Of course we did NOT put any names or anything on the placemats..... just trees and a Bible verse. But, I am still torn about this.... This is something I will pray about. If you don't mind, say a short prayer for me about this one.... Let me know what you think.....

Saturday, October 14, 2006

WHATEVER HAPPENED???

As I get older, I find myself asking THIS question more and more.... Like whatever happened to kids playing outside? Not in an organized sport, just to have fun! My friend recently sent me this website (article) on homework. It is so true. We spend so much time trying to train our kids that there really is no time for fun. There are some things that technology brings that is so needed. But, yet at the same time, as I watch my family play these computer games, I ask myself, is it really fun? I know it is addicting, but I really don't see the fun. The kids who do organized sports, (my kids do) Is it really fun? Or is it more of training mode for later? Kids do not have time to be kids. There are so many kids today that have so much stress and anxiety that they have to be medicated. I think it is so sad that we expect so much out of our young people. What is so wrong with just being a kid? I loved being a kid!!! Didn't you love riding your bike? Not, in a race or trick riding competition, just to feel free, to feel the wind blowing thru your hair! What about playing baseball? Not on a team, just with your neighbors or cousins just to laugh and kill time. What about trying to make or create things? Like a clubhouse or a new dance? The kids today are so smart academic speaking. But, I see so many little ones that have trouble socially. They do not know how to play with each other, how to comunicate. I think that leads to alot of depression! I wish I knew how to solve this problem..... Even if I could just help this problem, that would be great. Stephanie recently had to write an article for her school newspaper on anxiety and depression of teenagers. That is so sad. There are soooo many! The pressure of todays schools is unreal. Today, Dallas has a birthday party to attend.... but, I have to make him do his homework and study for an upcoming test before he can go! If I don't he will keep putting it off and not do it.... But, I can't blame him! When does it end? We all want what is best for our kids.... We all want them to succeed, go to college have good jobs etc... but, at what price????

Ok... I am off my soap box for now!!! Today is beautiful! Definitely cold..... brrrr! But, everyone will feel a little warmer once the Bucks beat Michigan State!!! GO BUCKEYES!!!

Monday, October 09, 2006

PCC Youth

Hey, just wanted to let everyone know that the youth group is really buzzing. They decided to make a church newspaper. The name of the paper will be POP(Passion of Pickaway) They already have certain sections assigned to each member! We have also created a blogspot! It is pccyouth4Him.blogspot.com. We are having a bonfire on Sunday evening hosted by the youth group! And coming in December we will have our Live Nativity Scene once again!
So, don't forget to check out the youth blog every once in a while to see what is up with the kids at Pickaway! :)

Friday, October 06, 2006

BOYZ.............................

Ok.... my friend and I were talking the other day about our boys. Now that they are big 5th graders they get the big sex education class..... We were talking about how different it is with boys, I was telling her it was easy with Steph. My friend proceeded to tell me that she was driving one day and her son and his friend were in the back seat. They were talking about animals and her son mentioned something about breeding. The other little boy said, "What is that?" She listened to see how he would explain it............. Then, her son said, It is where the boy animal sticks his wee wee in the girl. She said it was hard to keep a straight face, keep driving and pretend not to hear. Then the other little boy said, "I know something even grosser than that! Humans do it to!" She said she didn't know how she was going to make it without busting out laughing......

Ok then today, Dallas and a friend were riding to our house after school. They were talking about their birthdays. Dallas' is tomorrow and his friend is the 15th. They were laughing about their mom's ages. They said they would just reverse my 42 and I would be 24! Steph would be 61 and so on. Then I said tomorrow it won't matter for Dallas he will still be 11.... He was like dude I'm gonna be 11 I thought I was gonna be 10! LOL>>>>> (doesn't that sound like a line from an 80's movie?)

Tomorrow will be busy...... I need to go get Dallas' Birthday gift.... Steph is going to another homecoming, so of course gotta do hair..... And Dallas is having a birthday dinner and invited uncle Mike and his family :) For his birthday dinner he wants................ a turkey dinner...... so, yeah mom will be busy!!!

Well........... my week is going to end crazy too! At least I haven't locked myself out or lost anymore shirts......... or even gotten stuck in the mud!!! :)

Speaking of Lost................... Am I the only one lost??? I guess I will be lost till the final episode. Is Jack really under water? I can't wait till next week when we see the rest of the crew! Do you think Michael and his son will be back? And where are all the kids and the French lady, where is her daughter? See, I am so confused! LOL........ oh well, I know that is nothing new! Let me know if you have it figured out!

Wednesday, October 04, 2006

This week I have been...............

Monday - shirtless: ok so we have these shirts at preschool that we have to wear on field trips. I brought mine home on Friday, Monday, I went to get it to wear to Circle S Farms. Where is it? No one knows.... Can't find it anywhere!

Tuesday - stuck: Yes, I got my car stuck in the mud at Circle S Farms.... So I am thinking maybe Circle S doesn't like me anymore! These 2 dads pushed me out! One of them had on a brand new pair of Nike shoes! Thank goodness they had baby wipes to help clean them up!

Wednesday - locked out: Then today.... I walked out, locked the front door. Then of course, I realized that I do not have my car and house keys! They are locked in the house..... and of course Dallas needed to be at school in 5 minutes.... So, my friend Jennifer rescued me! Took Dallas to school, drove to the pumpkin patch, picked up Steph, brought us home...... Dan had came home and left me a key! We got in and Steph called Dan to find out that he had forgotten where he had put the key, but it had been here the WHOLE time! AAAAAAAAAHhhhhhh!

What a week..... and this is just the first half........ I hope the rest of the week will go better..... I am such a goof! And oh yeah... I still haven't found my shirt!

But, at least tonight I can get......................................................LOST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!